Savingforcollege.com
Topic Options
#42040 - 12/10/07 11:17 PM special needs child
dede Offline
Visitor

One of my three children has been diagnosed as being on the autism spectrum - high functioning. He currently has a NY 529 plan but we aren't sure how profound his disabilities are right now (he is only just three). Does anyone on the board have any experience with using 529 proceeds in courses that would be covered for special needs adults? I know I can divert funds to my other two children if he doesnt attend college (assuming they attend of course) but would like to know what the options are for long term funding purposes.

Edited by dede (12/10/07 11:18 PM)
Edit Reason: typo

#42053 - 12/11/07 11:49 PM Re: special needs child [Re: dede]
schoolshrink1 Offline

Loc: Tenino, WA USA
dede, time will tell how impacted your child is on the autism spectrum. As he is high functioning you have reason to suspect that he may be eligible for college at some level. Though I have no experience in using my 529 monies for my 9 year old child (he has autism and ADHD), I know that any qualified higher education expenses (QHEEs) would be covered by saving in a 529. Only you know your child and what will be realistic for him to accomplish. To me, what is most important will be to have him develop basic skills (reading, writing, mathematics) as well as possible. Like any student, he will need basic skills that can generalize to a particular area of study that he might pursue one day. Skills will develop, but how well he develops them will depend on his natural ability and how well he is taught as an autistic student.